History of Fire service in Takarazuka

- 1948: Itami city, Kohama village and Ryogen village formed the Itami firefighting Association Office near the intersection at Takarazuka Girls' Opera House.
- 1951: Kohama village was renamed "Takarazuka town".
- 1952: The Itami firefighting association was dissolved. Takarazuka town and Ryougen village formed Takarazuka firefighting office.
- 1954: Takarazuka town and Ryogen village merged to become Takaeazuka city, so the Takarazuka firefighting office was dissolved and the Takarazuka fire department was established. The Fire department and the fire station division were set up in Sakae-machi.
- 1963: The Fire department and fire station division were relocated in Kohama.
- 1964: The Hibariugaoka branch was established.
 - The Nambu, Nagao, Skae-machi, Minamiguchi and Nishitani branches were launched.
- 1969: The Nagao branch became the Nagao station division.
- 1975: The Maitani branch was established.
- 1978: The Nagao station division became the Takarazuka East Fire station division.
- 1982: The Nakayamadai branch was established.
 - The Nishitani branch became a sub-branch.
- 1985: The Fire department and the West Fire station division were moved to their current location.
- 1988: The East Fire station division was relocated.
- 1992: The Minamiguchi branch was closed and the Housyoen branch was established. (The Housyoen branch offers fire drills at Takarazuka Nishi High School)
- 1995: The Sakae-machi branch was established
- ☆Today, Takarazuka city has one Fire department, two fire station divisions and seven branches.
- ☆Fire engines in Takarazuka have the same vehicle number and the same number on their number plates.

What is a "Fire brigade"?

- It is an organization, which is established in municipalities based on the law and that works with the Fire Departments to deal with fires and disasters.
- The members of fire brigades have their own jobs but they rush to the scenes of fires or disasters from their offices or houses when fires or disasters occur.
 - The members are part-time public servants.
- 1954: With the establishment of Takarazuka city, the Takarazuka town fire brigade and the Ryogen village fire brigade merged together. There were 13 fire brigades in Takarazuka city.
- 1955: The number increased to 29 when Takarazuka city, Nagao town and Nishitani village merged. After 1965, the fire department was enhanced and the number of the fire brigades decreased.
- 1968: The Kasio, Nishikuranndo, Higashikuranndo and Kohama fire brigades were dissolved.
- 1969: The Maruhashi, Yamamoto and Nakasuji fire brigades were dissolved.
- 1970: The Kawamo, Sakaemachi and Isosi fire brigades were dissolved.
- 1971: The Kamiakura and Shimoakura fire brigades were dissolved.
- 1972: The Hirai and Maitani fire brigades were dissolved.
- 1975: The Obayashi, Maitanihigashi and Nakayamadera fire brigades were dissolved.
 - During the Showa period, all the fire brigades in the southern part of Takarazuka City were dissolved and only 11 fire brigades remained in Nishitani area.
- 2013: The first female firefighter joined a fire brigade in Takarazuka city
- 2018: On March 31st the Takedao fire brigade was dissolved due to the decreasing number of firefighters
- ☆Today, the number of Takarazuka fire brigades has narrowed down to ten.

 They are the Kamisasori, Shimosasori, Nagatani, Tobu, Cyubu, Seibu, Hazu, Sakaino, Tamase and Kirihata fire branches.